Conference History

History of the HPLC Symposium

The International Symposium on High Performance Liquid Phase Separations (HPLC) is an international forum for the scientific discussion of the methods of high performance liquid chromatography in its various forms, along with the complementary separation techniques such as electrophoresis, electrochromatography, field-flow fractionation, supercritical fluid chromatography and hypenated techniques, such as LC/MS and CE/MS. In addition, microfluidics, separations on chips, diagnostic systems, and other leading technologies are also considered.

This conference originated in 1973. Advances in the field of liquid-phase separations are highlighted at each meeting. The meetings alternated between Europe and the United States with even years being in the US.

Year Location Chair(s)
1973 Interlaken, Switzerland Willy Simon
1975 Wilmington, USA Jack J. Kirkland
1977 Salzburg, Austria Joseph F.K. Huber
1979 Boston, USA Barry L. Karger
1981 Avignon, France Georges Guiochon
1982 Cherry Hill, USA Robert Bardford
1983 Baden-Baden, Germany Klaus Peter Hupe
1984 New York City, USA Csaba Horvath
1985 Edinburgh, UK John H. Knox
1986 San Francisco, USA Ronald E. Majors
1987 Amsterdam, The Netherlands Hans Poppe
1988 Washington, USA Georges Guiochon
1989 Stockholm, Sweden Douglas Westerlund
1990 Boston, USA Barry L. Karger
1991 Basel, Switzerland Fritz Erni
1992 Baltimore, USA Fred E. Regnier
1993 Hamburg, Germany Klaus K. Unger
1994 Minneapolis, USA Larry D. Bowers and Peter W. Carr
1995 Innsbruck, Austria Wolfgang Lindner
1996 San Francisco, USA William S. Hancock
1997 Birmingham, UK Anthony F. Fell
1998 St. Louis, USA Daniel W. Armstrong
1999 Granada, Spain Emilio Gelpi
2000 Seattle, USA Edward S. Yeung
2001 Maastricht, The Netherland Hans Poppe and Henk Lingeman
2001 Kyoto, Japan Nobuo Tanaka and Shigeru Terabe
2002 Montreal, Canada Irving W. Wainer
2003 Nice, France Antoine M. Siouffi
2004 Philadelphia, USA Mark R. Schure
2005 Stockholm, Sweden Douglas Westerlund
2006 San Francisco, USA John H. Frenz
2007 Gent, Belgium Jacques Crommen and Pat Sandra
2008 Baltimore, USA Georges Guiochon and Steven Jacobson
2008 Kyoto, Japan Koji Otsuka and Nobuo Tanaka
2009 Dresden, Germany Christian Huber
2010 Boston, USA Steven A. Cohen
2011 Budapest, Hungary Attila Felinger
2011 Dalian, China Yukui Zhang and Peter Schoenmakers
2012 Anaheim, USA Frantisek Svec
2013 Amsterdam, The Netherlands Peter Schoenmakers
2013 Hobart, Australia Paul Haddad
2014 New Orleans, USA J. Michael Ramsey
2015 Geneva, Switzerland Gérard Hopfgartner
2015 Beijing, China Guibin Jiang
2016 San Francisco, USA Robert T. Kennedy